Nothing Like a Good Cup of Coffee

Most of you know I’m an espresso drink fan, lattes being my number one go-to drink. A nice simple espresso shot is also a nice afternoon digestive provided the next day isn’t a work day.

This morning, as I was getting ready to go see The Slacker Brother at the hospital, I wanted to stop somewhere for my latte. It being a Farmer’s Market Sunday, however, parking in my neighborhood would be challenging and I didn’t really want to go out of my way to one of my other reliable cafes. For a while now I’ve been wanting to stop at the Golden Bear Trading Company. It’s on Judah and 6th and I drive by it all the time. I think it used to be a corner store because I seem to recall stopping there for wine and chips before a poker game one night, but then I noticed it looked different inside. Later I read about it when I was researching coffee joints in the city – I’m always on the look-out for new places to try because inevitably the places I’ve been going to get too cool. I’m not a believer in this city’s growing “line” culture.

I didn’t think to take a photo while I was inside, but at least you’ll know where to find the GBTC.

I figured I’d have to risk double parking because I never see parking around Judah and 6th, but the Parking Gods were with me this morning and I found a spot just a little ways down from the cafe. I was clearly meant to stop here this morning. 

The inside is nice and clean. A few white tables and chairs fill the center of the shop and shelves full of booze wrap along the walls. They have a really good selection of liquors; whiskey, vodka, gin, agave, they even carry St. George’s Absinthe. I went up to the counter and got a nice morning greeting from the proprietor, Sam. I saw some baked goods and ordered a bagel with cream cheese and salmon and a latte. Sam said, “We don’t do lattes here. No machines.” “No problem”, I say, and after a review of options, select the Turkish/Red Sea Blend from the dark roast list. 

I drank it all!

It’s nice having a freshly made cup of coffee. Sam ground the beams, put them in the filter and minutes later, liquid gold. It was delicious. If not for visiting plans, I would have enjoyed my breakfast there. Perhaps next time.

If you’re in the neighborhood, check it out.

Leave a Reply

