Current Reading List

Trying out a new blogging service requires one to actually post content, so today I’m going to write about my current reading list.

As usual, I’m reading multiple books at the same time:

  • Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, by Jenny Lawson. This memoir is hysterical. I don’t read a lot of memoir or funny books, but I came across this title in one of my Amazon browsings. I downloaded a sample and laughed until I nearly peed myself and as soon as I reached the end of the sample I purchased the book. Lawson’s story-telling is so vivid and engaging that I feel like I’m part of her family, witnessing the same dramas and foibles that she experiences.
  • Fall of Giants, by Jeffrey Archer. This is the first book in Archer’s Century Trilogy. I’m about a quarter of the way through so far. It’s a good historical fiction and I’m enjoying the characters and settings. It is a little two-dimensional, but I’m not ready to hold that against it just yet. Not all books are top shelf and the story moves along at a good pace and is interesting.
  • This Boy’s Life: A Memoir, by Tobias Wolff. Okay, I know I just said I don’t read a lot of memoir. This is just coincidence. One of the commencement speakers at our May graduation ceremonies was Tobias Wolff. He gave an excellent commencement speech and it motivated me to re-read his memoir. I’m about a third of the way through and I’m sure I’m liking it a lot more then when I was a teenager. This remains a pivotal coming-of-age memoir and well worth the re-read.
  • Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights, by Salman Rushdie. Despite many attempts over the years – well, since I purchased The Satanic Versus on principle – I have never managed to get through one of Rushdie’s novels. I did read his memoir (okay, maybe I need to rethink my memoir comment in bullet one), Joseph Anton, and loved it, so I’m giving this book a go. I’ve gotten through the first two chapters. It’s beautiful, of course. His prose is always beautiful. But I continue to get distracted by other reads. I’m determined to get through this one, though, because it really is my kind of storyline – fairies, battles between light and dark, alternate worlds. I’ll post an update when I’m done reading it and let you all know my assessment.
  • Believing is Seeing (Observations on the Mysteries of Photography), by Errol Morris. This is a very interesting approach to understanding photography. Morris considers how photographs relate to their  subject in light of history and time. It’s a bit of a slow, academic read, but it makes you see photographs in a much deeper way then just visual impact.

I won’t discuss the plethora of “junk food” I’ve read lately. 

Have any reading recommendations? If so, please post them in the comments. I’m always open to suggestions.

One thought on “Current Reading List

  1. LOVE Tobias Wolff! I think you’d like David Sedaris’s stories of growing up with his crazy family. He, too, is hilarious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

